Sunday, May 19, 2024

Pakistan Cricket Board Announces New Captains for T20 and Test Cricket

Pakistan Cricket Board Announces New Skippers for T20 and Test Cricket

LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Wednesday announced left-handed batter Shan Masood and pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi as captains for Test and Twenty20 international (T20I) format, respectively.

Taking to X (formerly Twitter), the PCB shared the new captains of the Pakistan cricket team for the Test and T20I format.

Presenting our captains, [Shan Masood] has been appointed Test captain while [Shaheen Shah Afridi] will lead the T20I side.

The development came after star batter Babar Azam stepped down as Pakistan all-format captain following the team’s dismal performance in the ongoing World Cup 2023, ARY News reported on Wednesday.

Babar Azam’s resignation came shortly after he met Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Management Committee Chairman Zaka Ashraf at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium.

Azam’s captaincy and his future in the role came under question following the national team’s below-par performance in the World Cup 2023.

The team suffered five losses, the most in their World Cup history, including their first defeat against Afghanistan in ODIs also their first against South Africa in World Cups this century.

Under the batter’s leadership, Pakistan failed to qualify for the semifinals as they finished fifth in the standings with eight points.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Channel Join Now
KSA Web Desk
KSA Web Desk
Stay Updated, Stay Simple: Get the Latest News with Ease at Kashmir Student Alerts


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here